Unprecedented Collegiate Award Winners

Unprecedented Collegiate Award Winners

The 2019 women's college soccer season saw FC Wisconsin alums earn unprecedented individual honors for their performances in some of college soccer's biggest conferences.  

Kate Del Fava rewrote the record book in the Missouri Valley Conference in her senior year at Illinois State.  Beyond earning Player of the Week honors a record-setting 5 times, she was also named the MVC Player of the Year, the MVC Scholar Athlete of the Year, and was in the top 10 in the country in goals and points.

In the Big 10, Wisconsin claimed its first ever undisputed regular season conference championship, and FC Wisconsin players played a huge role in that unprecedented achievement:

  • Jordyn Bloomer was named the Big 10 Goalkeeper of the Year, and earned 1st Team All-Big Ten honors.
  • Dani Rhodes was named the Big 10 Forward of the Year, and earned 1st Team All-Big Ten honors.
  • Payton Wesley was the Wisconsin captain and earned the Big 10 Sportsmanship award.
  • Emma Jaskaniec earned Big 10 All-Freshman Team honors.

Two more freshman made big waves in their collegiate debuts this season as well.  Jordy Rothwell was named to the Big East All-Freshman team for her performances in midfield at Creighton, and Nicole Norfolk was named to the MVC All-Freshman team for her performances at centerback at Valparaiso.

Beyond these individual honors, the club's 4 alums at Wisconsin led Wisconsin to the Sweet 16 (where they dropped a tough 0-2 game to UCLA), and club alum Elyse Bennett's season is still going, as she helped Washington State advance to the Elite EIght for the first time in program history this weekend.

To have 3 Player of the Year winners, 3 All-Freshman Team players, and the captain of a championship winning Power 5 team is an incredible feat for any club in the country.  Congratulations to these very special players!

Sponsors & Affiliates